Skip to main content

Utah Original Writing Competition and Awards


View as a pdf


Since 1958, the Utah Original Writing Competition has awarded Utah writers for works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry in a variety of forms. The competition’s mission is to aid Utah writers on their path to publication and broader recognition.

Congratulations to Shanan Ballam who is a member of the Utah Arts Council Board of Directors. She was not only the emcee but had the honor of distributing the awards at the ceremony held on November 5th. 

Lance Larsen, Utah's poet laureate, was also there to give a poetry workshop and to participate in the awards ceremony.

Congratulations to our faculty members who were winners in the Utah Original Writing Contest.

Category C: Book-length Collection of Poetry

First Place: Fire Engine Descending a Staircase, by Jason Olsen (Price)
Second Place: Welcome, Dangerous Life, by Ben Gunsberg (Logan)

Utah Writing Awards